Staff Links 10127 120 Avenue, Grande Prairie, AB, T8V 8H8| Phone: 780-532-4491| Contact Us
Grande Prairie Public School Division
Every Student Succeeds
News Item

GPPSD Announces their 2022 Edwin Parr Award Nominee

April 28, 2022

Edwin Parr 2021_2022-13.jpgApril 28, 2022 - The Grande Prairie Public School Division nominates Chiara Gorgichuk for the 2022 Edwin Parr Award. 

Our Board of Trustees is proud to announce Chiara Gorgichuk as their nominee for the Alberta School Boards Association Edwin Parr Teacher Award - recognizing excellent first-year teachers across the province. As the division's nominee, Gorgichuk will be given consideration by the Zone 1 Edwin Par Nomination Committee. If successful, her nomination will be presented as one of the six zone winners from across the province.

As a first-year teacher at Crystal Park School, Ms. Gorgichuk shows excellence by creating a positive, inclusive, optimal learning environment – while showing dedication to her school and division.

Joan Nellis, Board Chair, explains, "our board advocates for inclusion, building trust and strong relationships in everything we do. We believe Ms. Gorgichuk's efforts in demonstrating and teaching these guiding principles will give students skills for success in the classroom and their larger communities."

Crystal Park's Principal, Cindy Clarkson says Ms. Gorgichuk "creates a warm, welcoming and respectful environment for her students. Her ability to foster effective relationships and encourage students to strive for success is noticeable every day. In addition, she values building her own capacity, as proven through her implementation of new technologies and social-emotional learning strategies – we are pleased to have Chiara as part of our team!"

In her diverse grade 6 classroom, Ms.Gorgichuk continuously creates opportunities for students to share and celebrate with each other. In addition, her commitment extends to extracurricular activities and school events outside of the classroom, helping her get to know the whole child.

Proactively adapting her teaching style, Ms. Gorgichuk successfully meets the learning needs of her students – preparing them academically, socially and emotionally for success.

"Ms. Gorgichuk's commitment to working with division coordinators, the multi-disciplinary team, the learning support teacher and administration shows her dedication to lifelong learning as she supports student success," states Sandy Mcdonald, Superintendent of GPPSD.

Related Information

  • Each year, the Alberta School Board Association (ASBA) honours six outstanding first-year teachers with the Edwin Parr Teacher Award. School boards may nominate any first-year K to 12 teacher who has taught in an Alberta school jurisdiction which is a member of the ASBA.
  • Nominees are recognized at the zone level by their associated zone. Nominees are additionally recognized at a provincial level by ASBA at its Fall General Meeting.
  • For almost 60 years, these awards have been presented to outstanding first-year teachers.
  • More information: Awards - Alberta School Boards Association (

Division Information

Grande Prairie Public School Division
Phone: 780-532-4491