Staff Links 10127 120 Avenue, Grande Prairie, AB, T8V 8H8| Phone: 780-532-4491| Contact Us
Grande Prairie Public School Division
Every Student Succeeds
News Item

Daniel Bishop recipient of Alberta School Boards Association Edwin Parr Teacher Award

September 11, 2019

Grande Prairie, AB, Sept. 11, 2019 – The Board of Trustees of the Grande Prairie Public School Division (GPPSD) is very pleased to announce that Aspen Grove teacher, Daniel Bishop is the 2019 recipient of the Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) Edwin Parr Award. Daniel was recognized as the Zone 1 winner at the ASBA Fall General Meeting. Nominees from across northern Alberta were celebrated at the banquet that recognizes outstanding first-year teachers.

Daniel was born and raised in Grande Prairie and attended GPPSD schools, graduating from the Grande Prairie Composite High School.  Today, Daniel teaches at Aspen Grove School, where he attended as an elementary student.  Mr. Humbke, Aspen Grove Principal, said of Daniel’s win, “We are very pleased for Mr. Bishop and our school.  Mr. Bishop demonstrates passion and excellence in everything he does and we are fortunate to have him working with our junior high students on a daily basis.  He is an exceptional teacher.”

John Lehners, Board Chair, said “As a Board, we are proud that Daniel has received this award.  He is an excellent teacher, and we know that he will positively impact our students for many years to come.  It is especially meaningful to us that a former GPPSD student is the Edwin Parr Award winner this year.”

Daniel says that “I feel as though the teachers and coaches throughout my life have helped shape me into the individual that I am today, and I want to be that person for my students now. That’s why I feel as though building positive relationships with each one of my students is a key for their educational success in the classroom and their future success in society.”

About the Edwin Parr Award:

Every school board has excellent first-year teachers, who deserve to be recognized for their outstanding efforts by being nominated for the Alberta School Boards Association’s (ASBA) Edwin Parr Teacher Award. Each school board in Alberta may nominate one teacher for this award, and one winner will be selected by a committee of Trustees in each of the 6 Zones that make up the Alberta School Boards Association in Alberta.  The Zone winner will be identified at a Zone ASBA meeting in September and Provincial recognition for each of the Zone Award Recipients will occur in November at the ASBA Fall General Meeting.

Edwin Parr homesteaded in the Meanook area near Athabasca in 1920. Prior to 1925, he began his long career in educational affairs as a member of the board with the George Lake School District. He served as chair of the board with the Athabasca School Division and was on the council of the County of Athabasca from its formation in 1959 until his death in January 1963. Edwin Parr was president of the Alberta School Trustees’ Association (now ASBA) from 1956 to 1962.

“Ed Parr”, as he was known to all, instituted an Annual Teacher Award in his school system. Each year a member of the teaching staff was chosen to receive a gold watch and a certificate for long and meritorious service. To honour his memory and to honour the profession he so dearly respected, the Alberta School Trustees’ Association (now ASBA) established the Edwin Parr Teacher Award in 1964.


Photo caption: Daniel Bishop, receiving the 2019 Alberta School Boards Association Edwin Parr Teacher Award Certificate from his Principal, Mike Humbke, and surrounded by the Grande Prairie Public School Division Board of Trustees and Superintendent Sandy McDonald.

Photo credit: Jody Bekevich, Communications & FOIP Coordinator at Holy Family Catholic Regional Division.

- 30 -