Staff Links 10127 120 Avenue, Grande Prairie, AB, T8V 8H8| Phone: 780-532-4491| Contact Us
Grande Prairie Public School District
Every Student Succeeds
News Item

Sixteen GPPSD Schools will practice the habits of active and engaged citizenship via Student Vote

April 15, 2019
We are excited to announce that sixteen GPPSD schools are registered for Student Vote Alberta.  Students learn about and practice the habits of active and engaged citizenship. The Student Vote activities take place at school and allow students to experience the 2019 Alberta Provincial Election voting process firsthand.

Student Vote provides resources to schools for students to “learn about government and the electoral process, research the parties and platforms, discuss relevant issues and cast ballots for the official election candidates.”  

Participating schools are supplied with print and online classroom materials, posters and election supplies. The purpose of the activities is to inform students about government and the electoral process, encourage research into the candidates and issues, and foster dialogue among students and their families.

During Student Vote Day, students take on the role of deputy returning officers and poll clerks and cast ballots for the official election candidates. The results are tabulated and shared publicly after the close of the official polls.

Please visit to learn more.

Participating schools:
  • Alexander Forbes The Academy School
  • Aspen Grove School
  • Avondale School
  • Charles Spencer High School
  • Crystal Park School
  • Derek Taylor Public School
  • Grande Prairie Christian School
  • Grande Prairie Composite High School
  • Hillside Community School
  • I.V. Macklin Public School
  • Isabel Campbell Public School
  • Maude Clifford Public School
  • Parkside Montessori
  • Riverstone Public School
  • Roy Bickell Public School
  • Swanavon School